Government   /   Officials


Newtown Borough is a municipality of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania organized under the Borough Code.  It is divided into two wards, with each ward electing three members of Borough Council.  The Mayor and Borough Council serve on a volunteer basis and receive no monetary compensation.

Elected Officials 

Elected officials are voted into office by Newtown Borough residents and serve four year terms.

The Council meets monthly on the Wednesday prior to the second Tuesday for Work Session at 5:30 P.M. Check the website calendar for meeting locations as they vary due to availability at the Chancellor Center. Borough phone number is (215)968-2109.

The monthly meetings of the Council are held on the second Tuesday at the Chancellor Center at 7:00 P.M. and when required, a second meeting on the fourth Thursday.

Borough Council:
Susan Turner
six members
Police Committee, Police Pension, Streets, Lights and Properties, and Budget & Finance
Tara Grunde-McLaughlin


Police Committee, Streets, Lights and Properties, and Budget & Finance

Emily Heinz
Liaison to HARB, Recreation Board, and Joint Historic Commission 
Amy Lustig
Liaison to EAC, Human Relations Commission, and Traffic Committee
Robert Szwajkos
Liaison to Parking & Signs Committee, Shade Tree Commission, and Budget & Finance
Maryellen Raymond
Liaison to Planning Commission, Zoning, and Personnel Committee
John Burke


Police Committee, Emergency Management Coordinator
The Mayor does perform weddings upon request.

Tax Collector  :
Judy S. Musto (215) 504-1284 (phone)
(215) 860-7990 (fax)

Office: Borough Hall, 23 N. State Street

April and August: Tuesday 5-7 PM and last two Wednesdays 5-7 PM
May 2nd & August 31st 5-7 PM

Current Millages:  2022

Borough                   17.25   Mills
County                     25.45   Mills
School (2021-22)   132.8073   Mills

Other times by appointment
For additional tax information, see  #28 for Newtown Borough.

A number of Newtown Borough residents assist elected officials by serving on a committee, board or staff. The earned income tax collector is Keystone Collections. See  Taxpayer Helpline Flyer.pdf  for information. Patricia A. Ours, Treasurer; Judy S. Musto, Borough Secretary,; Borough Engineer, Michele Fountain; Borough Solicitor, Michael Clarke of Rudolph Clarke, LLC